General guidance for getting started - specifically when configuring FritzBox routers

Hey, this is my first time working with an ACS and I’m feeling a bit overwhelmed. (Apologies in advance if I’m not asking the “right” questions or if I have the wrong assumptions, I’m still trying to orientate myself as to how all this works)

My end goal is to be able to automatically configure a WAN IP/GW/DNS on a interface of a FritzBox router, but I don’t know where to begin or what I would even need to do with GenieACS to make that happen.

I’ve searched the forum for posts related to FritzBoxes and I saw one from about a vendor config file. In that thread there is discussion about uploading an existing vendor config file to GenieACS and then pushing that down to the FritzBox.

I’m not exactly sure what this vendor config file is or how I can get it. I know that I can download a file from my FritzBox that is a backup of the config - is this a vendor config file? If that’s the case, I could easily write a python script to edit the WAN IP/GW/DNS settings for the interface I’m interested in, but then I’d need to know how to programmatically upload this file to GenieACS and push that down to the device I want. (That’s also something else I’m not sure how to do. I’m familiar with writing basic get/post requests in python, but I don’t know where or how I’d upload that to my GenieACS instance or how I would clean up un-needed files afterwards.

Futhermore, another road block I’ve run into is getting Genie to see my Fritzbox when I plug it in. I’m currently running the server inside of an Ubuntu VM that’s in virtualbox on my windows work laptop. I would imagine I need to bridge the correct NIC with the VM, but then I don’t know where in Genie’s various files I can specify what network it should listen on.

I’m assuming that my workflow would look something like this:
Connect Fritzbox to the same network where GenieACS is hosted